Anthem of the Week: Adventures in Creating the Perfect Mixtape

I’m writing an “Anthem of the Week” to make up for my lack of “AotW” — the last of which I’ve written was way back in September 2011 – that’s just plain inexcusable.

I used to love music – so much. It defined me. It shaped my conversations. My attitudes. My understanding of people. It made me dance, it made me cry, it made so much sense to me. People would ask me what to listen to – what new and exciting artist is worth their time? I would name it – they would listen to it, they would love it, they would hate it and ask me for more.

Not any more.

Why? Because as much as I love music, I do not lean on it any more to define me. I know who I am and I am not musical. Unfortunately. It took me a while to accept it, far longer to just say it, but there. So what good is there in creating a mixtape if music is not what defines me?

There are two things wrong with that question: 1) I’m a movie person and movies need soundtracks; 2) Just because I do not depend on music to define and shape my interactions with the every day does not mean that music isn’t a part of me.

The Pakistani, Salvadorian, North American cultures I belong to, bring out an inner force that compels me to respond to musical rhythm. It’s very much in me and I’ve nourished that inner force by surrounding myself with music throughout the years.

A schmorgashmorg of feel-good

SIDE A:

Doo-Wop (That Thing) – Lauryn Hill

Devil With the Blue Dress – Wilson Pickett

Jeepster – T. Rex

53rd & 3rd – The Ramones

Please Mr. Postman – the Marvelettes

I Only Have Eyes For You – the Flamingoes

Knock On Wood – Amii Stewart

Down in Mexico – The Coasters

My Doorbell – The White Stripes

Jump in the Line – Harry Belafonte

SIDE B:

My Sweet Lord – George Harrison

The Seed – The Roots

New Noise – Refused

U RA Fever – The Kills

1999 – Prince

Sad House Daddy – Hawksley Workman

D’yer Mak’er – Led Zeppelin

Coin-Operated Boy – the Dresden Dolls

Superstition – Stevie Wonder

Bicycle Race – Queen

Head Over Heels – Tears for Fears

B-SIDES:

Deceptacon – Le Tigre

Sharks – Cadence Weapon

Son of a Preacher Man – Dusty Springfield

These Boots Are Made for Walkin’ – Nancy Sinatra

Love Burns – Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

A Boy Named Sue – Johnny Cash

**Maybe I do not pursue the discovery of new music with the same gusto as I did in my youth, but I know what I like.

Thank you Whitney French for inspiring the model of this post*

1 comment
  1. GIRL! When I listened to “I Only Have Eyes for You” I pretty much melted all over my laptop. What a great post, happy to inspire. Flattered really.

    Also:
    Doo wop (obviously amazing)
    The Seed (wicked!)
    Deceptacon (umm…YES!)
    These Boots Are Made for Walking (Kareoke classic)
    A Boy Named Sue (favourite tune!)

    Keep the anthems coming!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 322 other followers

